BJP Won Five of the Seven Mayoral Seats in Uttarakhand Civic Polls

November 21, 2018

The BJP has won five of the seven mayoral seats and 34 of the 84 chairman and president posts in the Uttarakhand civic polls, while Independents sprang a surprise by grabbing 23 posts.

The Congress won 25 of the chairman and president posts in the state’s civic bodies and the BSP won one post, according to information released by the state election commission here Wednesday morning.

A result for one post is yet to be declared, it said.

The civic body poll was a high-stake battle for the ruling BJP that was looking to match its own impressive showing in the Uttarakhand elections last year when it had won 57 out of 70 assembly seats.

It was also significant for the Congress that has been struggling to stage a comeback after its defeat in the assembly polls.

The BJP won five of the seven mayoral seats, including Dehradun, Rishikesh, Kashipur, Rudrapur and Haldwani, while the Congress won Haridwar and Kotdwar, the commission said.

About nehanchal

I am Nehanchal. 3 years ago, I started my career as content writer at Money classic Research. I am fascinated with this job and I feel habit of reading and writing enhances your skills. I love to write technical and health blogs. However, I am engineer turned writer and pursued graduation at Rajiv Gandhi Prodyogiki Vishwavidhyalaya.
By: nehanchal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *